Facebook’s New Login System

Facebook’s New Login System

Facebook is introducing a new login system; Restricted Mode to iOS 14 users. The reason for the company to offer a new login system is Apple‘s data tracking policy introduced with iOS 14. In iOS 14, the new version of the operating system; Apple introduced a great innovation to its users in terms of privacy and tracking of data. Apple wanted its users to be aware of the data it shared with application developers.

The company also gave time to application developers to update their application policies according to these changes. Of course, this news didn’t make everyone happy. One of these was Facebook, which earned a large part of its revenue from targeted ads. However, Facebook found a solution to circumvent this as well. Although Facebook says targeted ads on its platform are very important to small businesses; and Apple‘s move is hurting small businesses, Apple did not accept these accusations. Facebook also provided a solution to this problem: the new login system.

New Login System For iOS 14 Users

Facebook‘s new login system is referred to as Limited Login mode. However, it enables Apple‘s data tracking policy to go around, so to speak. The company offers two options for the user to log in: Classic Login mode and Limited Login mode. Classic Login mode will be Facebook as we know it, while Limited Login mode will allow users to access a different version of the app. When logging in from this mode, only the user’s name, profile photo and e-mail address will be shared. In this way, Facebook will allow developers to collect data from those who choose Classic Login mode, while complying with Apple‘s new rules.